F1 Results

Starting Grid 2017 Chinese F1 GP

Startgrid 2016 Chinese F1 GP

Startgrid 2016 Chinese F1 GP

F1 Racing event: calendar/chinese-grand-prix-f1-race-information/">Chinese Grand Prix
F1 Circuit: Shanghai International Circuit

2017 Chinese Grand Prix Tyre Compounds

Shanghai imposes unique and quite high demands on the tyres, which has led to close racing as well as plenty of overtaking in the past. But the weather can also never be predicted, ranging from bright sunshine to heavy rain: sometimes in the same weekend. This will have a significant effect on tyre behaviour and strategy, as less degradation for this season theoretically means fewer pit stops. Last year, the winner stopped twice during the 56-lap race, although most drivers did a three-stopper.


Track always feels ‘green’ and slippery during the first sessions of the weekend, There’s a roughly equal split of corners and straights on the track, inaugurated in 2004. Corners that demand most from tyres are Turn 1 (a long right-hander) and Turn 13. The front-left tyre is worked hardest. The long straight means tyres can cool down and subsequently provoke graining. Straight also provides chances to overtake, so teams can opt for the quickest strategy. Pirelli will supply wet weather tyres in a different compound with better performance on low severity tracks and smooth asphalt.

MARIO ISOLA - HEAD OF CAR RACING “We’re bringing the middle selection of compounds, but we expect teams to use mainly soft and supersoft, depending of course on the unpredictable weather: especially as the allocation is just two sets of medium. In the past, there has been some graining in China due to the long straights followed by tight corners, but we’ve seen in Barcelona testing that graining is generally reduced this year, so it will be good to have that confirmed. In case of wet and possibly cool conditions, we will supply wet weather tyres in a different compound, with the target of giving the drivers more grip.”

F1 Grid 2017 Chinese Grand Prix

PosNoDriverTeamLap Time
144Lewis HamiltonMercedes01:31,7
25Sebastian VettelFerrari01:31,9
377Valtteri BottasMercedes01:31,9
47Kimi RäikkönenFerrari01:32,1
53Daniel RicciardoRed Bull01:33,0
619Felipe MassaWilliams01:33,5
727Nico HülkenbergRenault01:33,6
811Sergio PérezForce India01:33,7
926Daniil KvyatToro Rosso01:33,7
1018Lance StrollWilliams01:34,2
1155Carlos Sainz Jr.Toro Rosso01:34,2
1220Kevin MagnussenHaas F1 Team01:34,2
1314Fernando AlonsoMcLaren01:34,4
149Marcus EricssonSauber01:35,0
152Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren01:35,0
1633Max VerstappenRed Bull01:35,4
1731Esteban OconForce India01:35,5
1836Antonio GiovinazziSauberno time
198Romain GrosjeanHaas F1 Team01:35,2
2030Jolyon PalmerRenault01:35,3


  • Car 8 - Romain Grosjean (Haas) - 5 place grid penalties - Failing to slow for double waved yellow flags
  • Car 30 - Jolyon Palmer (Renault) - 5 place grid penalties - Failing to slow for double waved yellow flags
  • Car 36 - Antonio Giovinazzi (Sauber) - 5 place grid penalty - Replacement Gearbox

Book discounted tickets and reservate your hotel room in our F1 Tickets Shop.

Please share this article & subscribe to our FREE weekly F1 Newsletter!

 submit to reddit  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Last 20 articles:

See older posts in our F1 Archive »

Stay Updated by F1-Fansite!

Early Booking Discounts on F1 Tickets

Book F1 Tickets cheaper at F1-Fansite.com 2017 Formula 1 Season Early Booking Discounts are:
F1 RaceDiscount
flag australia Australia '18AvailableBook Now
flag azerbijan Spain '1820% DiscountBook Now
flag spain Spain '1820% DiscountBook Now
flag  monaco Monaco '18AvailableBook Now
flag canada Canada '18AvailableBook Now
flag austria Austria '1820% DiscountBook Now
flag uk UK '18AvailableBook Now
flag germany Germany '1829% DiscountBook Now
flag hungary Hungary '1820% DiscountBook Now
flag belgium Belgium '1815% DiscountBook Now
flag singapore Singapore '1820% DiscountBook Now