McLaren F1 Team information & statistics

mclaren f1 teamEric Boullier
Principal: Eric Boullier

McLaren F1 statistics:

Race Starts826
Drivers' Titles12
Constructors' Titles8
Fastest Laps153
One/two finishes47




McLaren F1 Drivers

14. Fernando Alonso

Race Starts295
Drivers' Titles2
Fastest Laps22

2018 helmet Fernando Alonso
Helmet of Fernando Alonso

47. Stoffel Vandoorne

Race Starts25
Drivers' Titles0
Fastest Laps0

2018 helmet Stoffel Vandoorne
Helmet of Stoffel Vandoorne

Current McLaren reserve, reserve & development driver is Lando Norris.

Achievements McLaren F1 Drivers

United Kingdom David Coulthard150122118517775514412
United Kingdom Jenson Button136810826174566908
Finland Mika Häkkinen1312014175126627725407
United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton1102116124926606511913
France Alain Prost1073021126310583224458.5
Brazil Ayrton Senna96351285546515712451
Finland Kimi Räikkönen87915123611425319337
New Zealand Denny Hulme86651021148625174
Spain Fernando Alonso7844412240355223
United Kingdom John Watson7344513037173109
Austria Niki Lauda5885215027838128
Germany Jochen Mass49116802361264
United Kingdom James Hunt49923141422415117
Austria Gerhard Berger4837818423237135
New Zealand Bruce McLaren35142701828060
Finland Heikki Kovalainen35111311799275
France Patrick Tambay2800000123208
Brazil Emerson Fittipaldi2856213215671100
Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya26322721268186
Belgium Stoffel Vandoorne25000001281022
United Kingdom Peter Revson23224811402061
Denmark Kevin Magnussen19010101112055
Mexico Sergio Pérez19000001115148
United States Brett Lunger170000082600
United Kingdom Martin Brundle1601120672016
Finland Keke Rosberg1601011697022
Sweden Stefan Johansson1602350771030
United Kingdom Mark Blundell1500000798013
Italy Andrea de Cesaris140000044801
United Kingdom Peter Gethin140000062901
United States Michael Andretti130011042707
Sweden Jo Bonnier110000037501
United Kingdom Mike Hailwood1100110566012
Spain Pedro de la Rosa901010456123
Italy Bruno Giacomelli60000030900
United States Dan Gurney60000026404
South Africa Jody Scheckter60000024700
Italy Andrea de Adamich50000021600
United Kingdom John Surtees40000022911
United Kingdom Vic Elford40000020303
United Kingdom Jackie Oliver30000010800
United Kingdom David Hobbs30000016200
United Kingdom Brian Redman30000012904
Brazil Nelson Piquet3000006000
Spain Emilio de Villota20000012000
South Africa Dave Charlton20000014700
United Kingdom Nigel Mansell2000007900
Denmark Jan Magnussen1000008100
Canada Gilles Villeneuve1000006600
South Africa Basil van Rooyen1000001200
Austria Alexander Wurz1001106206
United States Mark Donohue1001106404
Belgium Jacky Ickx1001101404
France Philippe Alliot1000002100
United Kingdom Derek Bell100000500



McLaren F1 Cars



McLaren F1 Team Key Members



Mclaren F1 Team History

Alain Prost wins 1984 Monaco F1 GP in McLaren MP4-2

Alain Prost wins 1984 Monaco F1 GP in McLaren MP4-2

McLaren are one of the oldest and most successful teams in Formula 1, and are the great rivals of the illustrious Ferrari team.

Since their debut back in 1966, the team has gone on to win eight Constructors Championships, and 12 Drivers titles.

They have also seen some of the sport’s greatest names at the wheel of their cars. Ayrton Senna, Alain Prost, Nikki Lauda and Mika Hakkinen are to name a few.

Founded by New Zealand driver Bruce McLaren back in 1963, the team had to wait a further three years for its debut, at Monte-Carlo.

After two years of little success as the team’s only driver, Bruce was joined by fellow Kiwi Denny Hulme in 1968. They won three races that season, with Bruce claiming their maiden victory at Spa.

After the founder’s death in 1970 their progress was halted but after four years of rebuilding they finally claimed their first world championship, courtesy of Emmerson Fittipaldi.

They backed that up in 1976 when Britain’s James Hunt won one of the tightest championship seasons ever in 1976, holding off Lauda's Ferrari.

However, a run of uncompetitive years left McLaren scrapping for points lower down the grid. But seven championships in eight years through the mid-80’s to early 90-s was arguably as dominant as any team has ever been in possibly F1’s greatest era.

Teammates Senna & Prost worst moment in Japan 1989

Teammates Senna & Prost worst moment in Japan 1989

Lauda held off team-mate Prost to claim the 1984 F1 championship by half a point before the meticulous Prost went on the win in both 1985 and 1986.

After Lauda moved on, Prost was joined by the up and coming Ayrton Senna, the team were so dominant that the pair won 15 of 16 races that season. Senna won a very tight maiden championship.

In 89 the relationship between Prost and Senna soured further when the pair clashed in Japan, Prost won the title in another McLaren dominant year.

After the Professor left to join Ferrari, Senna had a free reign and won back to back titles in 90 and 91.

There has been further success for Hakkinen and Lewis Hamilton but despite remaining competitive, three championships in 21 years are not what McLaren expected since their dominant decade.

They remain title contenders but with the financial backing of other teams, their task to return to the front is harder than ever.

The Honda engine adventure has turned out to a big disaster. The team had a dramatic 2015 F1 season, in which McLaren had to settle for 9th position in the constructors championship. Even though having a dream driver couple with 2 world champions Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button, the engine will not be powerful then it is.

Every start of a new season the hopes get up high, 2016 turned out bad and Rond Dennis, who achieved a lot of succes in the earlier Honda years with Senna, had to leave as team principal.

For the 2017 F1 season the team has come up with a new livery (orange/black). The power unit should generate as much power as the Ferrari one and Stoffel Vandoorne is already compared with Max Verstappens talent, so let's see if McLaren get on to the podium this season.

Official McLaren F1 website:



McLaren F1 GP Finish Positions

1st182 Times
2nd158 Times
3rd145 Times
4th117 Times
5th110 Times
6th90 Times
7th82 Times
8th52 Times
9th54 Times
10th40 Times
11th38 Times
12th38 Times
13th20 Times
14th22 Times
15th8 Times
16th11 Times
17th4 Times
18th5 Times
19th2 Times
20th4 Times
DSQ12 Times
NC7 Times
Ret504 Times
DNPQ2 Times
DNQ25 Times
DNS14 Times



Latest McLaren News

Boullier hits back at McLaren axe rumours

May 21 - Eric Boullier has hit back at suggestions he could be the next to leave McLaren. Recently, designer Tim Goss left the British team, which after the move from Honda to..

May 22, 2018 with 0 Comments.

Latifi's father linked with McLaren deal

May 21 - The father of Force India reserve driver Nicholas Latifi is linked with a major deal at McLaren. Last week, Canadian 22-year-old Latifi tested for Force India in..

May 22, 2018 with 0 Comments.

Brown: McLaren looking at series outside F1

May 16 - If F1 budgets go down, McLaren will consider entering teams in other racing series. That is the claim of Zak Brown, whose top driver Fernando Alonso is already splitting..

May 16, 2018 with 0 Comments.

McLaren plans mid-season Alonso talks

May 15 - McLaren will open talks with Fernando Alonso about 2019 around the middle of the season. That is the news from team executive Zak Brown, acknowledging the rumours that..

May 15, 2018 with 0 Comments.

Hill: Vandoorne should shed 'nice boy' image

May 14 - Stoffel Vandoorne might need to shed his "nice boy" image in order to thrive in formula one. That is the view of Damon Hill, the 1996 world champion who was once seven..

May 14, 2018 with 0 Comments.

McLaren F1 Gear

2017 Alonso Cap Alonso F1 Cap
2017 Alonso Shirt Alonso F1 shirt
2017 McLaren F1 Cap Hamilton F1 Cap
VanDoorne F1 Shirt