F1 Race Event: Belgian Grand Prix
Race Track: Spa-Francorchamps Circuit

Third Free F1 Practice Results 2020 Belgian GP

Lewis Hamilton in turn 1 (La Source) with the Mercedes W11

Weather: dry  13.8-16.8°C
Tarmac: dry  18.8-26.7°C
Humidity : 72.8-64.5%
Wind : 2.0 m/s Var
Pressure: 957.5 bar

During the night and morning a lot of rain had washed the track before the third practice for the 2020 Belgian F1 GP. The weather conditions was cool with overcast. The track was still dense in the beginning of this FP3.

Only both Haas drivers, Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen drove some laps during the first 20 minutes of the session. After that the tarmac had dried out all other cars also went out on slicks.

Half an hour into the session the order was 1. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes), 1:43.813, 2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull),  +0.083s and 3. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), +0.325s. All three set their lap time on the soft compound (red) tyres.

15 minutes before the end of the session it started to drizzle at some places, which was the reason that all drivers returned to the pits to wait for the track to dry out again.

With 8 minutes to go all drivers except Magnussen decided to go out and created the most expensive traffic jam to get a good final run on the fabulous and more than seven kilometers long track.

Renault driver Esteban Ocon drove a great lap and even was 2nd fastest at the end of the session. Spa-Francorchamps must be one of his favourite circuits. The French driver scored a P3 two years ago in the Force India.

Ferrari's nightmare weekend even got worse with Charles Leclerc on P17 and four times WC Sebastian Vettel dead last on P20. Crazy to see when you consider they were the quickest team one year ago!

Last years quickest lap time in FP3 was a 1:44.206 min, set by Charles Leclerc in the Ferrari SF90.

FP3 Times Table 2020 Belgian GP

Pos No Driver Team Lap Time 1st Gap Laps Tyres
1 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:43.255 9 S (C3)
2 31 Esteban Ocon Renault 1:43.485 +0.230s 9 S (C3)
3 4 Lando Norris McLaren 1:43.641 +0.386s 12 S (C3)
4 23 Alex Albon Red Bull 1:43.731 +0.476s 13 S (C3)
5 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:43.813 +0.558s 9 S (C3)
6 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:43.896 +0.641s 10 S (C3)
7 3 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1:43.973 +0.718s 8 S (C3)
8 18 Lance Stroll Racing Point 1:43.988 +0.733s 12 S (C3)
9 55 Carlos Sainz McLaren 1:44.006 +0.751s 13 S (C3)
10 11 Sergio Pérez Racing Point 1:44.180 +0.925s 12 S (C3)
11 10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1:44.508 +1.253s 14 S (C3)
12 26 Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauri 1:44.543 +1.288s 14 S (C3)
13 6 Nicholas Latifi Williams 1:44.771 +1.516s 11 S (C3)
14 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:44.841 +1.586s 10 S (C3)
15 8 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:44.844 +1.589s 16 S (C3)
16 7 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo 1:44.932 +1.677s 11 S (C3)
17 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:45.147 +1.892s 12 S (C3)
18 63 George Russell Williams 1:45.157 +1.902s 11 S (C3)
19 99 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 1:45.190 +1.935s 13 S (C3)
20 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:45.420 +2.165s 12 S (C3)

✅ Check out more posts with related topics:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.