Start grid Bahrain 2018

#BahrianGP start grid

Event: Bahrian Grand Prix
Track: Bahrain International Circuit

At 17:10 hours CET the 20 fastest drivers of the world will battle out who will win the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Current world champion Lewis Hamilton will start from P9 due to a penalty and a slower quali than normal. Last time he started from 9th was 4 years back during the 2014 Austrian F1 GP he finished 2nd then.

Wonder boy Max Verstappen had a very unusual spin in Q1 and has to start from P15. The reason for his spin seems to be a glitch in the power unit software that gave him 150 hp more than he asked for. Last time hie started from 15th place was back in 2015 in a Toro Rosso during the 2015 Japanese F1 GP. He qualified 9th in that race.

Toro Rosso Honda driver Pierre Gasly did a fantastic job by qualifying 6th and thanks to Hamilton's penalty he will even start from 5th. The gap to the top teams is huge, nearly a second. But nobody and especially McLaren would have never expected that Toro Rosso would be this fast in the second race of the season and they would be eating dust.

Didi you know Daniel Ricciardo also qualified 6th once on Bahrain in a Toro Rosso? It was back in 2012. Unfortunately  he finished on P15.

Hopefully both Ferrari drivers Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen will fight till the end, just like Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton did 2 years ago in the Mercedes W07.

If that will happen is yet to be seen. It could be that the first one who gets to the first corner will win the race.

F1 Grid 2018 Bahrain Grand Prix

PosNoDriverTeamLap Time1st Gap
15Sebastian VettelFerrari1:27,958
27Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:28,1010,143
377Valtteri BottasMercedes1:28,1240,166
43Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:28,3980,440
510Pierre GaslyToro Rosso1:29,3291,371
620Kevin MagnussenHaas1:29,3581,400
727Nico HülkenbergRenault1:29,5701,612
831Esteban OconForce India1:29,8741,916
944Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:28,2200,262
1055Carlos SainzRenault1:29,9862,028
1128Brendon HartleyToro Rosso1:30,1052,147
1211Sergio PérezForce India1:30,1562,198
1314Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:30,2122,254
142Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1:30,5252,567
1533Max VerstappenRed Bullno time-
168Romain GrosjeanHaas1:30,5302,572
179Marcus EricssonSauber1:31,0633,105
1835Sergey SirotkinWilliams1:31,4143,456
1916Charles LeclercSauber1:31,4203,462
2018Lance StrollWilliams1:31,5033,545


  • Car 44 - Lewis Hamilton received a 5 place grid penalty for an unscheduled gearbox change.

✅ Check out more posts with related topics:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *