2018 Belgian Grand Prix: F1 Race Results, Winner & Report

2019 Belgian GP podium: 1. Vettel, 2. Hamilton, 3. Verstappen at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps on August 26, 2018 in Spa, Belgium.

Event: Belgian Grand Prix
Track:  Spa Francorchamps Circuit

Weather:  Dry  17.3ºC
Tarmac: Dry 29.4ºC
Wind speed: 10.8 km/h
Humidity: 38.5%

Sebastian Vettel won his 52nd F1 race today with his victory of the 2018 Belgian F1 GP. He now has passed Alain Prost in the most amount of wins list and holds 3rd place now. Vettel started the race from P2 and lead the race from lap 1 in which he overtook the Mercedes of his championship rival Lewis Hamilton.

It was the 3rd time he won the Grand Prix of Belgium and his 5th victory of the 2018 F1 season. For his team Scuderia Ferrari it was the 234th F1 victory.

The start of the race was full of incidents. Nico Hulkenberg braked to late for the La Source hairpin and hit the McLaren of Fernando Alonso in the back. Because of the collision Alonso's car was pushed over the Sauber of Leclerc and all three cars had to retire due to severe damage.

Even the car Red Bull of Daniel Ricciardo was hit by the McLaren of Alonso. Ricciardo also hit the back of Kimi Raikkonen's Ferrari, due to he got hit by Alonso's car. The Red Bull car of Ricciardo had a broken back wing and got back to the garage. Raikkonen only had a puncture and was able to continue.

The collision debris caused a safety car period of 4 laps. Sebastian Vettel was able to take the lead on Kemmel straight in the first lap and had to defend his P1 to both very quick Force India cars.

Halo critics unmoved after Leclerc crash

Leclerc & Alonso crash Belgian GP F1 2018

After the restart behind the safety car nobody was able to overtake and nothing. Ricciardo was still in the garage to get a new back wing. In the 7th lap Max Verstappen passed the Force India of Esteban Ocon when DRS was enabled. Verstappen passed him at the of Kemmel straight. Raikkonen went again to the pit because he had problems with his DRS. He returned to the track as last, but retired a few laps later.

In lap 10 Verstappen showed the Red Bull had good pace in Spa and even could pass the Force India of Sergio Pérez for P3 in front of tens of thousands Dutch Verstappen fans.

Valtteri Bottas who started on P17 due to replacement of power unit elements was charging up the field and drove already on P7 in lap 22 when his teammate Lewis Hamilton pitted for new soft tyres on his Mercedes. A lap later it was race leader Sebastian Vettel who also got new Soft Pirelli's. Hamilton did win a over a second on Vettel but was unable to attack the Ferrari.

Verstappen who drove in no man's land on P3 pitted in lap 27 for new Soft tyres and returned to the track as 3rd.

After the pitstops Vettel drove away to a gap of 12 seconds on his title rival Hamilton to win the race. Hamilton still leads the championship, but his points lead has shrunk to 17 points.


Belgian F1 GP Results
FP1 2018 Belgium
FP2 2018 Belgium
FP3 2018 Belgium
Qualifying 2018 Belgium
Startgrid 2018 Belgium

✅ Check out 2018 Belgian F1 GP Pictures
✅ Check out 2018 F1 Championship Standings
✅ Check out 2018 F1 Calendar


✅ Check out All Time F1 Drivers Rankings
✅ Check out All Time F1 Teams Rankings
✅ Check out All F1 drvers records

F1 classification 2018 Belgian GP

P No Driver Team Time Laps Grid Pts
1 5 Germany Sebastian Vettel
Italy Ferrari 01:23:34.476 44
2 44 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton
Germany Mercedes 01:23:45.537 44
3 33 Netherlands Max Verstappen
Austria Red Bull 01:24:05.848 44
4 77 Finland Valtteri Bottas
Germany Mercedes 01:24:38.081 44
5 11 Mexico Sergio Pérez
United Kingdom Racing Point 01:24:45.499 44
6 31 France Esteban Ocon
United Kingdom Racing Point 01:24:53.996 44
7 8 France Romain Grosjean
United States Haas 01:25:00.429 44
8 20 Denmark Kevin Magnussen
United States Haas 01:25:02.115 44
9 10 France Pierre Gasly
Italy Toro Rosso 01:25:20.368 44
10 9 Sweden Marcus Ericsson
Switzerland Sauber 01:23:39.447 43
11 55 Spain Carlos Sainz
France Renault 01:23:51.895 43
12 35 Russian Federation Sergey Sirotkin
United Kingdom Williams 01:23:54.334 43
13 18 Canada Lance Stroll
United Kingdom Williams 01:23:56.544 43
14 28 New Zealand Brendon Hartley
Italy Toro Rosso 01:24:12.518 43
15 2 Belgium Stoffel Vandoorne
United Kingdom McLaren 01:24:18.767 43
DNF 3 Australia Daniel Ricciardo
Austria Red Bull Collision damage 28
DNF 7 Finland Kimi Räikkönen
Italy Ferrari Collision damage 8
DNF 16 Monaco Charles Leclerc
Switzerland Sauber Collision damage 0
DNF 14 Spain Fernando Alonso
United Kingdom McLaren Collision damage 0
DNF 27 Germany Nico Hülkenberg
France Renault Collision damage 0


  • Valtteri Bottas (no. 77) - 5 second time penalty - Causing a collision

Fastest lap:  1:46.286 min by Valtteri Bottas - Mercedes W09 lap 32 @237.231 km/h (new lap record)
Highest speed: 345 km/h by Valtteri Bottas - Mercedes W09

✅ Check out more posts with related topics:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.