Lap times 1st practice 2018 Belgian F1 Grand Prix

Helicopter view of the Spa-Francorchamps complex and start /finish straight

Event: Belgian Grand Prix
Track:  Spa Francorchamps Circuit

Weather:  Partly Clouded,  17.1ºC
Tarmac: Dry, 27.1ºC
Wind speed: 18 km/h
Humidity: 51%

This Friday morning the exciting 2018 F1 season continued at last after a long summer break with great weather in Europe.

At 11 o'clock CET the green light was given to enter the famous Ardennes high speed track for the 1st of 3 practice sessions ahead to qualifying tomorrow afternoon and the race on Sunday.

A new name this practice session was Lando Norris. He could take place in the McLaren MCL33 of Fernando Alonso, who quits F1 at the end of the season.

Red Bull driver Max Verstappen had a great new orange helmet to show which delighted the Dutch crowd, that was already well represented around the Spa-Francorchamps circuit.

Yesterday it was still unknown if Force India would be allowed to drive this weekend. But this morning the FIA announced that they approve the mid-season entry of the "new" team Racing Point Force India.

Daniel Ricciardo could only drive 4 laps at the end of the session, due to a problem with his Renault engine again.

The session was a tight one, with the top 3 teams, Ferrari, Red Bull and Mercedes. Last year Kimi Raikkonen drove the quickest lap in FP1 and drove a 1.45.502 min on Ultrasoft tyres.

FP1 Lap Times 2018 Belgian GP

PosNoDriverTeamLap Time1st GapLapsTyres
15Sebastian VettelFerrari1:44.35819Soft
233Max VerstappenRed Bull1:44.509+0.151s20Soft
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:44.676+0.318s22Soft
47Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:44.718+0.360s17Soft
577Valtteri BottasMercedes1:44.724+0.366s25Medium
63Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:45.558+1.200s4Super
731Esteban OconForce India1:45.786+1.428s22Super
827Nico HülkenbergRenault1:45.951+1.593s19Super
911Sergio PérezForce India1:46.169+1.811s21Super
1055Carlos SainzRenault1:46.210+1.852s19Super
1110Pierre GaslyToro Rosso1:46.300+1.942s25Soft
128Romain GrosjeanHaas1:46.387+2.029s20Super
1316Charles LeclercSauber1:46.554+2.196s20Super
149Marcus EricssonSauber1:46.557+2.199s19Super
1528Brendon HartleyToro Rosso1:46.932+2.574s23Soft
1618Lance StrollWilliams1:46.965+2.607s25Super
1720Kevin MagnussenHaas1:47.012+2.654s21Super
1847Lando NorrisMcLaren1:47.364+3.006s26Medium
1935Sergey SirotkinWilliams1:47.367+3.009s23Super
202Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1:47.452+3.094s13Soft

✅ Check out more posts with related topics:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.