Lap times 2nd practice 2018 German F1 Grand Prix

Max Verstappen driving the (33) Aston Martin Red Bull Racing RB14 TAG Heuer on track during practice on July 20, 2018 in Hockenheim, Germany. (Photo by Charles Coates/Getty Images)

Event: German Grand Prix
Track: Hockenheimring

Weather:  Sunny,  30.6ºC
Tarmac: 48.2ºC
Wind speed: 8.6 km/h
Humidity: 24.5%

In FP2 of the German Grand Prix It was Carlos Sainz who got out the Hockenheimring pitbox as first with his Renault. He had a water-leak in FP1 and had to skip half of the session.

Sebastian Vettel was the first of the top team drivers who drove the fastest lap time on the Medium tyre in the Ferrari (1:14.700 min).

After 15 minutes it was Dutchman Max Verstappen who got P1 in the Red Bull and set the quickest lap time to 1:13.356 min on the Soft tyres.

Half an hour into FP2 Ferrari driver Kimi Raikkonen was the quickest driver on the Ultra soft tyres. He drove lap time of 1:13.427 min and after Kimi it was Valtteri Bottas and Lewis Hamilton who broke the official lap record in their Mercedes. Followed by Red Bull driver Max Verstappen who drove the quickest lap time of the day: 1:13.085 on Ultrasoft tyres.

Verstappen broke the lap record of 2004 with almost 0.8 sec and even was 0.3 sec faster than the 2016 pole position time of Michael Schumacher set in 2004 (1:13.306 min). The quickest lap time of FP2 in 2016 was 1:15,614 min...

FP2 Lap Times 2018 German GP

PosNoDriverTeamLap Time1st GapLapsTyres
133Max VerstappenRed Bull1:13.08518Ultra
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:13.111+0.026s39Ultra
377Valtteri BottasMercedes1:13.190+0.105s39Ultra
45Sebastian VettelFerrari1:13.310+0.225s46Ultra
57Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:13.427+0.342s41Ultra
68Romain GrosjeanHaas1:13.973+0.888s34Ultra
720Kevin MagnussenHaas1:14.189+1.104s36Ultra
816Charles LeclercSauber1:14.374+1.289s41Ultra
927Nico HülkenbergRenault1:14.496+1.411s31Ultra
1031Esteban OconForce India1:14.508+1.423s39Ultra
1111Sergio PérezForce India1:14.552+1.467s38Ultra
1255Carlos SainzRenault1:14.592+1.507s43Ultra
133Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:14.682+1.597s36Soft
149Marcus EricssonSauber1:14.783+1.698s38Ultra
1510Pierre GaslyToro Rosso1:14.793+1.708s44Ultra
1628Brendon HartleyToro Rosso1:14.830+1.745s45Ultra
1714Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:14.836+1.751s38Ultra
1818Lance StrollWilliams1:15.269+2.184s36Ultra
1935Sergey SirotkinWilliams1:15.408+2.323s41Ultra
202Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1:15.454+2.369s34Ultra

✅ Check out more posts with related topics:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.