Lap times 1st practice 2018 German F1 Grand Prix

Grandstand of turn 8 at Hockenheim

Event: German Grand Prix
Track: Hockenheimring

Weather:  Sunny,  28ºC
Tarmac: Dry, 42ºC
Wind speed: 4.3 km/h
Humidity: 32%

The first practice for the 2018 German Grand Prix started off without Esteban Ocon and Marcus Ericsson. Both drivers were substituted to test their skills of other talent. At Sauber it was Antonio Giovinazzi who was driving the C37. At Force India it was Nicolas Latifi who drove the FP1 instead of Ocon.

Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel had a special German GP helmet, to celebrate his home Grand Prix.

The lap record is 1:13.780 min set by Kimi Raikkonen in a McLaren 14 years ago back in 2004.

Verstappen was the first of the top teams to set the quickest lap time. He drove a 1:15.055 min. A lot of teams are working with flow-fish to check their aero data.

Half an hour into the session Giovinazzi lost a part of the Sauber's engine cover and had to go back to the pitbox.

An hour into the session it was the other home GP driver Nico Hulkenberg who left the track with 250 kim/h coming out of turn 12, he kept the car out of the barrier and was able to continue.

Mclaren had a strange session. Both drivers stayed in the pitbox for 40 minutes.

Lewis Hamilton topped the time sheet almost the whole session and his lap time when with 12 minutes to go it was Daniel Ricciardo who scored P1 with a lap time of  1:13.525 min, which is already 0.251 sec. quicker than the lap record of 2004 and 2 seconds faster than the quickest lap time driven in FP1 of 2016.

FP1 Lap Times 2018 German GP

PosNoDriverTeamLap Time1st GapLapsTyres
13Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:13.52522Ultra
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:13.529+0.004s29Ultra
333Max VerstappenRed Bull1:13.714+0.189s34Ultra
45Sebastian VettelFerrari1:13.796+0.271s23Soft
577Valtteri BottasMercedes1:13.903+0.378s30Ultra
67Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:14.267+0.742s24Soft
78Romain GrosjeanHaas1:14.691+1.166s29Ultra
820Kevin MagnussenHaas1:14.853+1.328s28Ultra
916Charles LeclercSauber1:15.097+1.572s25Soft
1027Nico HülkenbergRenault1:15.282+1.757s32Medium
1111Sergio PérezForce India1:15.415+1.890s29Ultra
1214Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:15.544+2.019s13Ultra
1318Lance StrollWilliams1:15.629+2.104s32Ultra
1455Carlos SainzRenault1:15.769+2.244s10Ultra
1528Brendon HartleyToro Rosso1:15.864+2.339s36Soft
1635Sergey SirotkinWilliams1:15.876+2.351s34Ultra
1734Nicholas LatifiForce India1:16.023+2.498s27Ultra
1810Pierre GaslyToro Rosso1:16.071+2.546s32Soft
1936Antonio GiovinazziSauber1:16.136+2.611s23Soft
202Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1:16.149+2.624s14Soft

✅ Check out more posts with related topics:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.