F1 Race Event: Portuguese Grand Prix
Race Track: Portimão Circuit

Third Free F1 Practice Results Portuguese F1 GP (FP3)

Lewis Hamilton followed by Max Verstappen during practice for the 2020 Portuguese Grand Prix

Weather: dry 19.0°C
Tarmac: dry  26.1°C
Humidity : 48.3%
Wind : 2.0 m/s NW
Pressure: 1015.3 bar

Right after the session started by the green light at the end of the pit lane it was McLaren driver Carlos Sainz who didn't hesitate to be the first to get in an installation lap.

The weather was perfect with a clear blue sky and a light breeze. Mercedes driver Valtteri Bottas was putting in a quick lap right away and clocked the quickest lap time of the weekend so far with a 1:17.888 min in his first times lap.

Charles Leclerc was pushing hard again and even was 3rd quickest after 20 minutes and spun the Ferrari in turn 14 trying to hard to close the 0.4s gap towards Pierre Gasly who set the 2nd quickest lap time in the AlphaTauri up till then. Lewis Hamilton topped the leaderboard in the Mercedes again at this time. His time was already a 1:16.680 min which is 1.3 seconds faster than the quickest lap time of Bottas yesterday in FP2.

Near the end of the session Daniel Ricciardo reported on the radio that the DRS wasn't working on his backwing. He returned to the pits to get it fixed. He returned to the track in the final minutes of this FP3. With one minute to go the session was stopped by a red flag because a drain cover in turn 14 had come off and caused a dangerous situation.

At the end Max Verstappen was only 0.158s slower than Bottas. Interestingly the quickest lap of Verstappen was driven on the slower Medium tyres, which proves that qualifying will be very interesting to watch later today.

FP3 Times Table 2020 Portuguese GP

Pos No Driver Team Lap Time 1st Gap Laps Tyres
1 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:16.654 27 S (C3)
2 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:16.680 +0.026s 23 S (C3)
3 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:16.812 +0.158s 21 M (C2)
4 10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1:16.930 +0.276s 24 S (C3)
5 23 Alexander Albon Red Bull 1:17.117 +0.463s 25 M (C2)
6 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:17.229 +0.575s 20 S (C3)
7 55 Carlos Sainz Jr. McLaren 1:17.238 +0.584s 24 S (C3)
8 11 Sergio Pérez Racing Point 1:17.297 +0.643s 17 M (C2)
9 4 Lando Norris McLaren 1:17.478 +0.824s 22 S (C3)
10 31 Esteban Ocon Renault 1:17.666 +1.012s 20 M (C2)
11 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:17.685 +1.031s 24 S (C3)
12 26 Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauri 1:17.720 +1.066s 29 S (C3)
13 7 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo 1:17.922 +1.268s 20 S (C3)
14 3 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1:17.935 +1.281s 13 M (C2)
15 63 George Russell Williams 1:18.032 +1.378s 20 S (C3)
16 18 Lance Stroll Racing Point 1:18.100 +1.446s 17 S (C3)
17 99 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 1:18.201 +1.547s 20 S (C3)
18 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:18.287 +1.633s 13 S (C3)
19 6 Nicholas Latifi Williams 1:18.397 +1.743s 20 S (C3)
20 8 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:18.454 +1.800s 19 S (C3)

Check out more items on this website about:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.