Lap times 1st practice 2018 Spanish F1 Grand Prix

SF71H with halo mirrors during practice in Spain 2018

Event: Spanish Grand Prix
Track: Catalunya Circuit

Weather:  Sunny, Clear Sky,  19.4ºC
Tarmac: Dry, 31.1ºC
Wind speed: 11.9 km/h
Humidity: 64.6%

First free practice on the resurfaced Catalunya circuit started off at 11 (CET) today.

Instead of Sergey Sirotkin, Robert Kubica took over the wheel for first practice for the 2018 Spanish GP. His last practice session was in Abu Dhabi 2010.

We also could see the first live pictures of the new McLaren MCL33 nose and the very ugly halo mirrors with wings on the Ferrari SF71H.

This weekend the supersofts (red), softs (yellow) and medium (white) Pirelli tyres may be used by the teams.

After 14 minutes into the session Stoffel van Doorne set the first lap time: 1:22.529 min in the McLaren with the new nose design.

Half way the session Daniel Ricciardo crashed his Red Bull in turn 4 and caused a virtual safety car. The damage caused by the crash was to big to come out again this session.

Lance Stroll was struggling for grip in the Williams and went of the track several times. The updates on the McLaren MCL33 seem to work great as Alonso showed up on sixth place of the time table.

Mercedes looked very strong with Bottas during FP1 in Spain today. The quickest lap time of last year was 1:21.151 min.

FP1 Lap results 2018 Spanish GP

PosNoDriverTeamLap Time1st GapLapsTyres
177Valtteri BottasMercedes1:18,14832soft
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:18,9970,84922soft
35Sebastian VettelFerrari1:19,0980,95024super
433Max VerstappenRed Bull1:19,1871,03926medium
57Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:19,4991,35119super
614Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:19,8581,71026soft
73Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:19,8711,72311soft
88Romain GrosjeanHaas1:19,9061,75824soft
92Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1:20,0831,93528medium
1010Pierre GaslyToro Rosso1:20,5082,36029medium
1120Kevin MagnussenHaas1:20,6372,48928medium
1216Charles LeclercSauber1:20,6652,51723soft
1311Sergio PérezForce India1:20,9242,77636medium
149Marcus EricssonSauber1:20,9842,83618soft
1555Carlos SainzRenault1:21,0532,90528super
1631Esteban OconForce India1:21,1442,99627soft
1727Nico HülkenbergRenault1:21,1593,01126super
1828Brendon HartleyToro Rosso1:21,3733,22528soft
1940Robert KubicaWilliams1:21,5103,36224super
2018Lance StrollWilliams1:22,7564,60815super

✅ Check out more posts with related topics:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.