F1 Race Event: Turkish F1 GP
Race Track: Istanbul Park Circuit

Max Verstappen driving the Red Bull RB16 on track in Turkey

Weather: wet 12.8°C
Tarmac: wet 15.0°C
Humidity : 85.4%
Wind : 1.2 m/s E
Pressure: 1008.3 bar

The third practice for the Turkish GP was very enjoying to watch. It rained in Istanbul and the track that recently has been resurfaced was even more slippery than yesterday and in the first part the drivers really had to work for their money.

At first the 20 most lucky drivers in the world tried to lap the circuit on intermediate (green) tyres, but almost nobody could keep their car on the tarmac or not spin off. The situation was a great equator for the drivers to show off their skills. Because a lot of drivers spun and could not get enough temperature in the tyres.

Rainmaster Max Verstappen was quickest with a 1:48.485 min in the Red Bull for a long time. Second fastest was Charles Leclerc but was almost a second slower. 3rd fastest was Verstappen's team mate Alexander Albon with a gap of 1.5s.

Later on it started to rain more and the track became almost undrivable. The teams decided to take break and wait for better circumstances. The weather didn't improve and even got worse. That's why some drivers didn't drive a timed lap.

The lap record is a 1:24.770 min set by Juan Pablo Montoya in the McLaren MP4-20 back in 2005.

FP3 Times Table 2020 Turkish GP

PosNoDriverTeamLap Time1st GapLapsTyres
133Max VerstappenRed Bull1:48.4856Inters
216Charles LeclercFerrari1:49.430+0.945s9Inters
323Alexander AlbonRed Bull1:50.059+1.574s5Inters
431Esteban OconRenault1:53.897+5.412s9Inters
54Lando NorrisMcLaren1:53.995+5.510s7Inters
65Sebastian VettelFerrari1:54.490+6.005s14Inters
711Sergio PérezRacing Point1:55.577+7.092s6Inters
877Valtteri BottasMercedes1:55.666+7.181s4Inters
920Kevin MagnussenHaas1:55.878+7.393s4Inters
1018Lance StrollRacing Point1:56.824+8.339s5Inters
113Daniel RicciardoRenault1:58.475+9.990s6Wet
1255Carlos Sainz Jr.McLaren1:59.548+11.063s7Inters
1399Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo2:02.325+13.840s10Inters
1410Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri2:02.473+13.988s7Inters
158Romain GrosjeanHaas2:04.748+16.263s5Inters
167Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo2:06.351+17.866s12Inters
1726Daniil KvyatAlphaTauri2:09.368+20.883s8Inters
1863George RussellWilliamsno time-1Inters
196Nicholas LatifiWilliamsno time-1Inters
2044Lewis HamiltonMercedesno time-3Inters

Check out more items on this website about:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.