Buddh International Circuit layout & records

Buddh Circuit DetailsLap RecordPole Record
Location:Greater Noida, IndiaLap Record:1:27.249 minRecord Pole:1:24.178 min
Race:Indian Grand PrixDate:30 October 2011Date:29 October 2011
Used Since:2011F1 Driver:Sebastian VettelF1 Driver:Sebastian Vettel
Type:Closed CricuitF1 Car:Red Bull RB7 RenaultF1 Car:Red Bull RB7 Renault
 Lap Dist.:5.125 kmSpeed:211.464 km/hSpeed:219.178 km/h


Buddh International Circuit
Buddh Circuitcircuit-legend

Buddh International Circuit: Three sections in detail

Turn 1
After the start-finish straight the track falls sharply downhill for turn 1 before rising again for turn 3. This change in gradient compresses both the driver and the car into the ground, generating huge vertical g-forces. The lubricants in the system will therefore also be squashed towards the bottom of the tank, which can in turn make pick-up difficult.

Paul di Resta on back straight with his Force India VJM05.

Paul di Resta on back straight with his Force India VJM05.

Back straight (between Turns 3 and 4)
The Buddh circuit features three long straights; the pit straight, the long run between turns 3 and 4 and the shorter spurt from there down to turn 5. The longest straight is the back straight, a huge 1.2km, with the engine running at wide open throttle for over 15secs. Interestingly this straight also features an altitude change with the track going downhill to the midway point of the straight before then climbing back up. The gradient changes will have an effect on gearing, which will need to take into account the dip and crest.

Turns 10 and 11
The second part of the track is much more twisted, shifting the emphasis from outright power to engine drive-ability. Turns 10 and 11, a radial turn with a profile similar to the Spoon Curve in Japan, is one of the most challenging. The drivers ‘play’ with the pedal over a relatively prolonged period as they attempt to find the limit of the car. This sustained period of lateral G will also test the engine’s oil and fuel systems to their limits.

Previous F1 GP Winners on Buddh International Circuit

20132013 Indian F1 GP result27 October1st Germany Sebastian Vettel
2nd Germany Nico Rosberg
3rd France Romain Grosjean
Austria Red Bull
Germany Mercedes
United Kingdom Lotus F1
20122012 Indian Grand Prix result28 October1st Germany Sebastian Vettel
2nd Spain Fernando Alonso
3rd Australia Mark Webber
Austria Red Bull
Italy Ferrari
Austria Red Bull
20112011 Indian Grand Prix result30 October1st Germany Sebastian Vettel
2nd United Kingdom Jenson Button
3rd Spain Fernando Alonso
Austria Red Bull
United Kingdom McLaren
Italy Ferrari

Buy F1 Tickets

Buy F1 tickets
at F1-Fansite.com
Current discounts are:

2017 F1 season
Book F1 Entrance Belgian F1 GP Belgium »
Book F1 Entrance Singapore F1 GP Singapore »
Book F1 Entrance Malaysia F1 GP Malaysia »
Book F1 Entrance Japanese F1 GP Japan »
Book F1 Entrance Japanese F1 GP USA »
Book F1 Entrance Mexican F1 GP Mexico »
Book F1 Entrance Mexican F1 GP Brazil »
Book F1 Entrance Abu Dhabi F1 GP Abu Dhabi »
2018 F1 season
Book F1 Entrance Australia F1 GP Australia »
Book F1 Entrance Spain F1 GP Spain »
Book F1 Entrance Monaco F1 GP Monaco »
Book F1 Entrance Canadian F1 GP Canada »

We make use of cookies to personalise ads, to make use of social media & to analyse our website traffic. We also share this information with our partners for use of social media, ads & analyses. These partners can combine our info with other info that you already shared with them or that they have gathered of you by using their services. By continuing to use this website, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.