Aintree Circuit layout & records

Aintree Circuit Details
Location:Aintree F1 Circuit Aintree, England
Event:British Grand Prix
Type:Closed Circuit
 Lap Dist.:4.828 km
Aintree Circuit Lap Record
Lap Record:1:55.000 min
Date:21 July 1962
F1 Driver:Jim Clark
F1 Car:Lotus 25 Climax
Speed:151.137 km/h
Onboard Lap F1 Video

Lotus 33 driven by Jim Clark French GP, Clermont Ferrand, 27 June 1965 (2)

Aintree Circuit

Aintree F1 Circuit Layout

Aintree circuit layout UK




Aintree Circuit History

Liverpool briefly reverberated to the sounds of racing cars as well as horses' hooves at the home of the Grand National, Aintree.

Struggling to make the National Hunt course pay its way with just a few meetings a year, Aintree owner Mirabel Topham hit upon the idea of building a Grand Prix course after a visit to Goodwood.

At a cost of £100,000, the largely flat circuit measured exactly three miles and was built in just three months, opening in May 1954.

Initially operating anti-clockwise, by the start of the 1955 season the circuit direction was reversed. Aintree was awarded the British Grand Prix that year, Stirling Moss making history by being the first British driver to win his home race.

Aintree also witnessed history when it hosted the 1957 Grand Prix, with Moss and Tony Brooks winning for Vanwall - the first such success by British drivers in a British car.

Further Grands Prix were held in 1959, '61 and '62, with the circuit ever popular with spectators because it shared grandstands with the horse racing track, giving unrivalled views of the whole course.

However, Mrs Topham announced that Aintree was to be sold off for redevelopment and the Grand Prix circus never came back. The racecourse was never in built upon, but the ownership became a long-drawn out sage until the Jockey Club took control.

A shorter club circuit was created by linking Railway Straight and Cottage Corner with a hairpin, and this was used for races until July 1982. In a club meeting five cars went off course, apparently damaging fences on the horse track, and the Jockey Club called an immediate halt to racing.

Both circuits still survive today, however. The club course now hosts the occasional sprint meeting while the Grand prix course still finds action once a year - by the TV car at the Grand National!

Driver Ranking


Driver Ranking Aintree Circuit

DriverGP  1st  2nd  3rd  Pod  Pole  FL  Avg GridAvg PosPoints
1United Kingdom Stirling Moss62103235.79.320.5
2Australia Jack Brabham510011011.46.213
3Germany Wolfgang von Trips11001004.01.09
4United Kingdom Jim Clark21001114.59.59
5United Kingdom Tony Brooks41001016.511.54
6Italy Luigi Musso20101009.53.58
7United States Phil Hill20101106.59.56
8United Kingdom John Surtees20101006.013.56
9Argentina Juan Manuel Fangio20101003.07.56
10New Zealand Bruce McLaren30022018.74.78.5
11Germany Karl Kling10011004.03.04
12United Kingdom Mike Hawthorn20011008.54.54
13United States Richie Ginther20011005.08.04
14France Maurice Trintignant40000006.510.55
15Italy Piero Taruffi10000005.04.03
16United Kingdom Graham Hill30000008.311.73
17United States Harry Schell40000008.011.83
18United Kingdom Roy Salvadori500000012.210.23
19Sweden Jo Bonnier40000009.315.02
20South Africa Tony Maggs200000018.59.51
21United Kingdom Peter Walker100000014.019.00
22New Zealand Tony Shelly100000018.021.00
23United Kingdom Bob Gerard100000018.06.00
24Brazil Fritz d'Orey100000020.015.00
25United Kingdom Ken Wharton100000015.09.00
26France André Simon10000008.022.00
27United Kingdom Tony Marsh100000027.024.00
28Italy Giancarlo Baghetti100000019.023.00
29United Kingdom David Piper100000022.021.00
30Brazil Hernando da Silva Ramos100000018.015.00
31United States Tony Settember100000019.011.00
32United Kingdom Peter Ashdown100000023.012.00
33Argentina Carlos Menditeguy100000011.017.00
34France Mike Sparken100000023.07.00
35United Kingdom Tony Rolt100000014.019.00
36Belgium Lucien Bianchi100000030.020.00
37United Kingdom John Campbell-Jones10000000.024.00
38Italy Massimo Natili100000028.030.00
39United Kingdom Stuart Lewis-Evans10000006.07.00
40United Kingdom Ron Flockhart100000011.016.00
41United Kingdom Brian Naylor100000014.022.00
42Argentina Roberto Mieres10000006.011.00
43France Robert Manzon100000011.024.00
44United Kingdom Alan Stacey100000012.08.00
45United Kingdom Horace Gould100000022.017.00
46United States Jay Chamberlain100000020.015.00
47United Kingdom Gerry Ashmore100000026.028.00
48United States Carroll Shelby10000006.014.00
49United Kingdom Les Leston100000012.015.00
50United Kingdom Lance Macklin100000016.08.00
51Italy Lorenzo Bandini100000021.012.00
52United Kingdom Leslie Marr100000019.020.00
53Switzerland Jo Siffert10000000.026.00
54Belgium Olivier Gendebien10000000.031.00
55Germany Hans Herrmann100000019.020.00
56United Kingdom Mike Taylor100000024.023.00
57United Kingdom Kenneth McAlpine100000017.013.00
58United Kingdom Trevor Taylor100000010.08.00
59United Kingdom Tim Parnell100000029.026.00
60United Kingdom Chris Bristow100000016.010.00
61Italy Eugenio Castellotti200000011.013.50
62United Kingdom Innes Ireland20000005.013.00
63United Kingdom Henry Taylor200000019.020.00
64United States Dan Gurney20000009.08.00
65Netherlands Carel Godin de Beaufort200000017.515.00
66United Kingdom Jackie Lewis200000015.018.50
67France Jean Behra20000002.516.50
68Germany Wolfgang Seidel200000021.518.50
69United Kingdom Ivor Bueb200000018.510.50
70United Kingdom Keith Greene200000013.020.00
71United Kingdom Peter Collins300000013.79.70
72United Kingdom Jack Fairman300000017.016.70
73United States Masten Gregory300000011.78.30
74United Kingdom Ian Burgess300000018.015.00

Team Ranking


Team Ranking Aintree Circuit

TeamGP  1st  2nd  3rd  Pod  Pole  FL  Avg GridAvg PosPoints
1United Kingdom Vanwall32002117.110.39
2Italy Ferrari41225108.26.932
3Germany Mercedes11113113.02.522
4United Kingdom Cooper-Climax510231114.711.725.5
5United Kingdom Team Lotus310011115.016.711
6United Kingdom BRM40101028.911.712.5
7United Kingdom Lola10101006.510.06
8Germany Porsche200000010.511.72
9Italy Maserati300000012.514.22
10France Gordini100000017.315.30
11United Kingdom Aston Martin10000004.010.00
12United Kingdom Ferguson100000020.019.00
13Italy Scuderia Sant Ambroeus100000019.023.00
14United Kingdom Connaught100000016.017.80
15United Kingdom JBW100000014.022.00
16United Kingdom Gilby200000013.020.00
17United Kingdom Emeryson20000006.322.00


Race Tickets

Available 2020 tickets:
flag-2020/10/pt.png Portugal
flag-2020/10/pt.png Imola

Available 2021 tickets:
flag-2020/10/pt.png Netherlands

✅ Check out & order yours at F1 Tickets Store » is powered by ProTrix