Lap times 2nd practice 2018 French F1 Grand Prix

French GP F1/2018

Event: French Grand Prix
Track: Circuit Paul Ricard

Weather:  Sunny, clear sky,  29.5ºC
Tarmac: Dry, 50.8ºC
Wind speed: 9.7 km/h
Humidity: 32.6%

The second practice for the French GP was a lot warmer than the first. The tarmac was over 50ºC!

This weekend Pirelli brought the Ultrasoft (purple), Supersoft (red) and the soft (yellow) tyres to Paul Ricard.

Pierre Gasly team Toro Roso was penalised with a fine of € 10.000,- for being 2:43 min. to late with his first set of tyres for inspection.

Kevin Magnussen was the first to set a lap time in the Haas VF-17 during 2nd practice and Kimi Raikkonen was the first who spun his car in turn 2.

Sebastian Vettel said that the track has much more dust and was therefore slower than first practice.

In the early stages of the practice both Mercedes drivers again showed a very good pace and were half a second faster than the rest of the cars. After 40 minutes Ricciardo drove the quickest lap time when Sergio Pérez lost his lef-right wheel and the session got red flagged. Perez was able to keep his car out of the barriers and was brought back to the pit.

Halfway the session Bottas had to stay in the garage because his car had a problem with the coolingsystem.

With 8 minutes on the clock the Honda engine of Brandon Hartley's Toro Rosso failed and the New Zealander had to stop his car.

2nd Practice Times 2018 French GP

PosNoDriverTeamLap Time1st GapLapsTyres
144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:32.53927Ultra
23Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:33.243+0.704s31Ultra
333Max VerstappenRed Bull1:33.271+0.732s24Ultra
47Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:33.426+0.887s29Ultra
55Sebastian VettelFerrari1:33.689+1.150s35Ultra
68Romain GrosjeanHaas1:33.699+1.160s30Ultra
777Valtteri BottasMercedes1:34.156+1.617s7Soft
814Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:34.400+1.861s24Ultra
920Kevin MagnussenHaas1:34.457+1.918s33Ultra
1010Pierre GaslyToro Rosso1:34.535+1.996s35Ultra
1127Nico HülkenbergRenault1:35.067+2.528s30Ultra
1255Carlos SainzRenault1:35.086+2.547s33Ultra
132Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1:35.172+2.633s28Ultra
1416Charles LeclercSauber1:35.583+3.044s33Ultra
1528Brendon HartleyToro Rosso1:35.697+3.158s31Ultra
1631Esteban OconForce India1:35.705+3.166s25Soft
1718Lance StrollWilliams1:35.936+3.397s34Ultra
1835Sergey SirotkinWilliams1:35.970+3.431s35Ultra
1911Sergio PérezForce India1:36.080+3.541s13Soft
209Marcus EricssonSauberno time

✅ Check out more posts with related topics:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.