Lap times 1st practice 2018 French F1 Grand Prix

A general view of the Paul Ricard circuit

Event: French Grand Prix
Track: Circuit Paul Ricard

Weather:  Sunny, clear sky,  25.2ºC
Tarmac: Dry, 43.7ºC
Wind speed: 12.2 km/h
Humidity: 36.5%

Marcus Ericsson in the Sauber wat the first to enter the Paul Ricard track for the first practice of the 2018 French Formula One Grand Prix.

Valtteri Bottas was the first who set a lap time with the Mercedes W09. He recorded 1:36.849 on Ultrasoft (pink tyres).

After 10 minutes Brandon Hartley was the first who went of the track in turn 6. The Paul Ricard circuit has special raw asphalt on the run-off areas next to the circuit to quickly slow down spinning cars.

Early in the practice session both Red Bull's were the fastest, with Daniel Ricciardo on top.

Later on it were Valtteri Bottas and Lewis Hamilton who took over the fastest lap time in their Mercedes.

A lot of drivers were struggling to keep their car on the track. Marcus Ericsson spun hard out of turn 5 and hit the barrier with the right side of his Sauber and caught fire. The fire was extinguished by the marshals. Because this crash Ericsson will not be able to drive during the second practice.

Both Force India and Toro Rosso drivers and Fernando Alonso in the McLaren haven't used the ultra soft tyres yet. Alonso's teammate Stoffel Vandoorne did use the faster Ultrasoft tyre, but was still slower than his teammate, who was 0,1 sec quicker on the Supersoft tyres.

FP1 Lap Times 2018 French GP

PosNoDriverTeamLap Time1st GapLapsTyres
144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:32.23125Ultra
277Valtteri BottasMercedes1:32.371+0.140s29Ultra
33Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:32.527+0.296s25Ultra
47Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:33.003+0.772s23Ultra
55Sebastian VettelFerrari1:33.172+0.941s19Ultra
68Romain GrosjeanHaas1:33.318+1.087s22Ultra
733Max VerstappenRed Bull1:33.331+1.100s15Ultra
810Pierre GaslyToro Rosso1:33.685+1.454s23Super
911Sergio PérezForce India1:33.719+1.488s26Super
1020Kevin MagnussenHaas1:34.108+1.877s23Ultra
1155Carlos SainzRenault1:34.258+2.027s25Ultra
1231Esteban OconForce India1:34.484+2.253s14Super
1316Charles LeclercSauber1:34.513+2.282s21Ultra
149Marcus EricssonSauber1:34.592+2.361s21Ultra
1528Brendon HartleyToro Rosso1:34.664+2.433s25Super
1614Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:34.862+2.631s20Super
1718Lance StrollWilliams1:34.881+2.650s28Ultra
1827Nico HülkenbergRenault1:34.993+2.762s24Ultra
192Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1:35.021+2.790s24Ultra
2035Sergey SirotkinWilliams1:35.105+2.874s25Ultra

✅ Check out more posts with related topics:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.