F1 Race Event: Portuguese Grand Prix
Race Track: Portimão Circuit

First Free F1 Practice Results Portuguese F1 GP (FP1)

Pit Lane entrance Portimao Circuit

Weather: dry  18.2°C
Tarmac: dry  25.2°C
Humidity : 77%
Wind : 0.9 m/s S
Pressure: 1012 bar

It was the first time since 1996 that we saw Formula one cars driving around in Portugal that compete for the F1 championship. Carlos Sainz was the first to put a lap time on the leaderboard. He clocked a lap time of 1:24.452 min on his first lap. But that time was deleted right away because het run wide in turn 4.

Max Verstappen was the first to spin on the "new" track. He lost control of the Red Bull RB16 in turn 4. With an hour to go it was Ferrari driver Charles Leclerc who topped the leaderboard with a 1:20.410 min. A few minutes later he lost control of the SF1000 in turn 14 and almost ended up in the gravel pit.

Verstappen didn't have strong session. Halfway the session we saw the pit crew was replacing the floor of the Red Bull and later on the Honda engine in the back seem to be smoking a lot.

Looking at the number of spins and drivers going wide, we can say that the new circuit in the Algarve is quite difficult to learn. At the end of the session we also saw a smoke coming out of the back of Esteban Ocon's Renault. His team told Ocon to return to the pits and not to change gears.

FP1 Times Table 2020 Portuguese GP

Pos No Driver Team Lap Time 1st Gap Laps Tyres
1 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:18.410 35 M (C2)
2 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:18.749 +0.339s 35 M (C2)
3 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:19.191 +0.781s 32 H (C1)
4 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:19.309 +0.899s 33 H (C1)
5 23 Alexander Albon Red Bull 1:19.365 +0.955s 34 H (C1)
6 55 Carlos Sainz Jr. McLaren 1:19.441 +1.031s 42 M (C2)
7 11 Sergio Pérez Racing Point 1:19.907 +1.497s 31 M (C2)
8 7 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo 1:19.954 +1.544s 34 M (C2)
9 3 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1:20.058 +1.648s 27 M (C2)
10 10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1:20.124 +1.714s 29 H (C1)
11 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:20.200 +1.790s 37 H (C1)
12 4 Lando Norris McLaren 1:20.207 +1.797s 29 M (C2)
13 26 Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauri 1:20.278 +1.868s 32 M (C2)
14 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:20.846 +2.436s 28 M (C2)
15 18 Lance Stroll Racing Point 1:20.954 +2.544s 32 M (C2)
16 99 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 1:21.009 +2.599s 35 H (C1)
17 8 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:21.169 +2.759s 31 H (C1)
18 63 George Russell Williams 1:21.374 +2.964s 31 H (C1)
19 31 Esteban Ocon Renault 1:21.673 +3.263s 31 H (C1)
20 6 Nicholas Latifi Williams 1:22.054 +3.644s 34 M (C2)


Here you can see all info you need to see before the Portuguese GP starts

Check out more items on this website about:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.