F1 Race Event: Sakhir F1 GP
Race Track: Bahrain Outer Track Circuit

Valtteri Bottas
Formula One - Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport, Sakhir GP 2020

Weather: dry  24.0°C
Tarmac: dry  26.7°C
Humidity : 42.3%
Wind : 1.3 m/s W
Pressure: 1012.1 bar

Valtteri Bottas scored his 16th F1 pole position of his career, during the 2020 Sakhir Grand Prix qualifying session today. The Mercedes driver will start from P1 for the first time in his career at Bahrain. It was the 126th pole for the Mercedes team.

The drivers were very worried about traffic during qualifying on the short and quick track in the desert. Except for Alfa Romeo driver Antonio Giovinazzi, we saw the The usual cars didn't made it to be quick enough to get into Q2. Except the driver in it were different today. Nicholas Latifi will not be a happy chap, being beaten by first-timer Jack Aitken.

In this session the time differences were unbelievable close. Carlos Sainz and George Russell only were 0.001s apart. In the first stint six drivers tried to get to Q3 on medium tyres, but 4 had to switch to soft tyres to not be eliminated. Only George Russell and Valtteri Bottas made it to Q3 on the medium tyres.

It was an amazing sight to see that the top 10 was less than 0.3s apart. Lando Norris, Esteban Ocon and Alex Albon were surprisingly to slow.

Bottas was the first to hunt for his 16th career pole and drove a 53.760s, but Verstappen gone even quicker and after the first stint he was on top with 53.591s. Both Mercedes drivers did a second run in the first stint and Bottas found how to go faster to time a 53.377s which was P1.

In the second stint all cars except the Ferrari of Charles Leclerc went out again with a new set soft tyres. Verstappen did improve his time but it was not enough to get P1 back.

Qualifying Times 2020 Sakhir GP

177Valtteri BottasMercedes0:53,9040:53,8030:53,37724
263George RussellMercedes0:54,1600:53,8190:53,40325
333Max VerstappenRed Bull0:54,0370:53,6470:53,43317
416Charles LeclercFerrari0:54,2490:53,8250:53,61321
511Sergio PérezRacing Point0:54,2360:53,7870:53,79017
626Daniil KvyatAlphaTauri0:54,3460:53,8560:53,90626
73Daniel RicciardoRenault0:54,3880:53,8710:53,95715
855Carlos Sainz Jr.McLaren0:54,4500:53,8180:54,01020
910Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri0:54,2070:53,9410:54,15428
1018Lance StrollRacing Point0:54,5950:53,8400:54,20019
1131Esteban OconRenault0:54,3090:53,99513
1223Alexander AlbonRed Bull0:54,6200:54,02612
135Sebastian VettelFerrari0:54,3010:54,17517
1499Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo0:54,5230:54,37714
154Lando NorrisMcLaren0:54,19415
1620Kevin MagnussenHaas0:54,7059
176Nicholas LatifiWilliams0:54,79611
1889Jack AitkenWilliams0:54,8929
197Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo0:54,96311
2051Pietro FittipaldiHaas0:55,42611

Check out more items on this website about:

What's your F1 fan opinion?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please follow our commenting guidelines.