F1 Fansite

Ermanno Penthouse 2016

F1 News

Silverstone- The home of F1

Posted on by

As Bernie Ecclestone threatens to say goodbye to one legendary track, it is time for another to remind him that there is more to Formula One than money. Silverstone returns this weekend as it hosts the British Grand Prix, one of the most prestigious races on the calendar.

This weekend is special. Silverstone is set to host its 50th British Grand Prix, a truly remarkable achievement for a former World War airbase. And, despite the recent modifications, the track has retained its ‘old school’ feel.

Silverstone Circuit layout & records

The fast turns of Copse, Maggotts and Becketts are world famous. Stowe corner is the scene of many overtaking manoeuvre, while Brooklands and Luffield add a more technical challenge. Silverstone is held in high regard by all the drivers for its circuit, atmosphere and sadly, weather.

Thousands of fans have had their afternoons ruined by the typical British weather but without a splash of rain, you wouldn’t have the true experience of a weekend at Silverstone, the place where it all began.

The track still retains some of the WWII runways that were used as an RAF base. After the War finished in 1945, the site became abandoned before some locals decided to race around a makeshift track. In 1948 the site was leased by the Royal Automobile Club, who was looking for a place to stage a race. The inaugural British Grand Prix was won by Italian Luigi Villoresi.

Two years later, and with a World Championship created for Formula One, Silverstone seemed the ideal race to kick it all off. The event was the first ever official Formula One race, and was attended by King George VI who remains the only British monarch to attend a race. The first race was won by the first champion, Alfa Romeo’s Giuseppe Farina.

In the years that followed, early greats such as Alberto AscariJuan Manuel Fangio and Jack Brabham claimed wins. Sir Stirling Moss only ever won at Aintree. But through a dominant decade, it was the Brits that ruled the sixties. Jim ClarkSir Jackie Stewart and Graham Hill changed the face of British Motor Sport. They were celebrities and inspired generations of racers. Hill never won at his home event but Clark and Stewart shared five Silverstone wins. Including successes elsewhere, Clark won the British Grand Prix five times, a joint record with Alain Prost.

The unique atmosphere and support from the crowd and a summer’s afternoon in the countryside had a happy knack of inspiring the home racers. 22 times a Brit has won his home race. James HuntJohn WatsonNigel MansellDamon HillJohnny Herbert and David Coulthard ensured regular home success through the 70’s, 80’s, 90’s and early 2000’s. Since then, it’s been slow progress as only Lewis Hamilton, in 2008, has provided a home win.

There have been some memorable races too. In 1976 James Hunt won, but was later disqualified, after protests made by Ferrari and Niki Lauda. Nigel Mansell, who had the heart of a lion, thrilled the crown by hunting down and passing Nelson Piquet in 1987. In 1991, after winning the race again, he gave a lift to stricken Ayrton Senna. In 2003, Rubens Barrichello came from the back to win a thriller and only last year, tyre explosions made the race a nervy classic.

Throughout the years the circuit, which is based just behind a sleepy Northamptonshire village, has had to compete with other notable British circuits for the right to stage the race. Donnington, Aintree and Brands Hatch have all had their turn but in the end it has always returned to its rightful home. The home of British Motor Sport and, proudly, Formula One: Silverstone.

Book discounted tickets and reservate your hotel room in our F1 Tickets Shop.

Please share this article & subscribe to our FREE weekly F1 Newsletter


Latest F1 News posts:

See older posts in our F1 News Archive »

Stay Updated by F1-Fansite!

Buy F1 MerchandiseBuy F1 Merchandise of your favourite driver or team.

Early Booking Discounts on F1 Tickets

Buy F1 tickets cheaper at F1-Fansite.com 2016 Formula 1 Season Early Booking Discounts are:
F1 Grand Prix

Book F1 Tickets Italian F1 GP Italy '16 15% discount Book Now
Book F1 Tickets Belgium F1 GP Belgium '16 10% discount Book Now
Book F1 Tickets Germen F1 GP Germany '16 € 20,- discount Book Now
Book F1 Tickets US F1 GP USA '16 Available
Book Now
Book F1 Tickets Chinese F1 GP China '16 15% discount Book Now
Book F1 Tickets Singapore F1 GP Singapore '16 40% discount Book Now
Book F1 Tickets Spanish F1 GP Spain '16 10% discount Book Now
Book F1 Tickets Monaco F1 GP Monaco '16 Available Book Now
Book F1 Tickets Canada F1 GP Canada '16 Available Book Now
Book F1 Tickets British F1 GP UK '16 Available Book Now


Who will win in Monaco

  • Lewis Hamilton (24%, 182 Votes)
  • Max Verstappen (22%, 170 Votes)
  • Daniel Ricciardo (19%, 149 Votes)
  • Nico Rosberg (19%, 143 Votes)
  • Sebastian Vettel (8%, 65 Votes)
  • Kimi Raikkonen (6%, 44 Votes)
  • Felipe Massa (1%, 7 Votes)
  • Valterri Bottas (1%, 6 Votes)

Total Voters: 766

Loading ... Loading ...
F1 Polls